Young Australian Space Leaders of 2022 Announced

Every year since 2011, a set of high achieving young undergraduate students are selected as Young Australian Space Leaders (YASL). Selected winners receive a scholarship providing them the opportunity to attend the International Astronautical Congress (IAC) and the Space Generation Congress (SGC) in its host country.

The IAC is the one place and time of the year where all global space actors come together. Covering all space sectors and topics, and with over 6,000 participants each year, it showcases the latest space information and developments in academia and industry.

At the SGC, up to 150 delegates will enjoy an inspiring and resourceful engagement with their peers regarding perspectives on space issues presented by the world’s leading space organisations, including: the International Astronautical Federation (IAF), National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), and the United Nations Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (UN COPUOS).

“We are proud to be able to provide young people in Australia with opportunities otherwise inaccessible to them, these individuals give so much to the industry that it is great to be able to give them access to this once in a lifetime experience” says AYAA 2022 President Bao-Thien Nguyen.

The selected YASL recipients who will represent young Australia to the greater global space industry are:

Ms. Myrthe Snoeks and Mr. James Orman from the University of Queensland for their continued involvement in the greater space ecosystem, where they have created opportunities, driven excellence, and built resilience across their ventures and initiatives.

Ms. Alison Lockley from the University of Sydney, and Mr. Daniel Wikner from the University of Queensland. For their demonstrated broad impacts, such as commitments to diversity and outreach, as well as technical excellence, initiative, and resilience across their experiences.

Ms. Laura Breckon and Mr. Gavin Choong from Monash University as representatives of the industry of the future, and their demonstration of interdisciplinary capability.

In line with the topic of “Space for All” applicants were asked to provide their perspectives on the topic, their impact, achievements, and their goals for Australia’s future in space to a marking panel.

Conor MacDonald, Young Australian Space Leader of 2015, and Systems Engineer at Shoal Group was one of the assessors on the marking panel. “The YASL program is a great initiative by the AYAA to highlight young talent here in Australia. This year’s list of recipients is no different, and I am confident that they will provide an invaluable contribution to the Australian Space industry in the years to come” he stated.

The Young Australian Space Leader program has been facilitated by the Australian Youth Aerospace Association Inc. through the ongoing support of individual donors, alumni, and industry alike. Applications for YASL 2023 will open in mid-2023.

For more details on this years scholarship click here.

The Australian Youth Aerospace Association Inc. is a not-for-profit with the objective of promoting education, awareness, and involvement in the aerospace industry to young people in Australia.
Please contact for enquiries or comments.