Raymond John Stalker Award

The Raymond John Stalker Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Australian Aerospace Industry is an award jointly hosted by the Australian Youth Aerospace Association (AYAA) and the Royal Aeronautical Society (RAeS). The award is designed to recognise exceptional young professionals in the aerospace industry for their outstanding achievements and leadership.

This award commemorates Raymond John Stalker FRAeS, a pioneer in hypersonic research. Born in Dimboola, Victoria, on August 6, 1930, Ray Stalker was Australia's first professor of space engineering and a pioneer of the world's fastest jet engines, the scramjet. During the 1970’s, Stalker developed a series of shock tubes, known as ''Stalker tubes'', that allowed researchers to test new engine and spacecraft designs, and his skills and facilities were in great demand by international aerospace agencies such as NASA, DERA and DLR. In the 1980s, Stalker started pioneering work on developing scramjet (supersonic combustion ramjet) technology - a supersonic air-breathing engine. Stalker's life work laid the foundations for a respected Australian presence in hypersonic aerodynamics.

The awardee must:

  • Be under 35 years old on 31 January 2019
  • Currently work or study in the Australian aerospace industry
  • Be an Australian citizen or permanent resident
  • Be eligible for membership of the Royal Aeronautical Society and the Australian Youth Aerospace Association

Application Process
Key Dates:

  • The application for the award will open December 10th 2018
  • The application for the award will close January 31st 2019
  • Judging will occur in February 2019
  • The winner of the award will be announced at the biennial Australasian International Aerospace Congress (Avalon Airshow)
  • The winner will also be invited to attend/present at the following Aerospace Futures Conference and subsequently at Royal Aeronautical Society Branch activities.


  • Applicants can nominate themselves or be nominated by someone else.
  • Applicants will attach a 2-page maximum CV
  • Questions in the application
    • Biography (max 200 words)
    • What do you consider to be your most significant contribution to the Australian aerospace industry to date? (max 300 words)
    • What do you consider to be your greatest achievement? (max 300 words)
    • What are your future plans and how do you propose to spend the award? (max 300 words)


  • The monetary contribution from AYAA and RAeS will be $2,500 each per awarding ($5,000 total)
  • The money will go towards professional development of the winner through tickets and flights to various airshows, conferences (such as the International Astronautical Congress, Space Symposium, Avalon Airshow, etc) and training.
  • AYAA will handle the logistics involved in awarding the prize.

Obligations of the Awardee

  • Write a report on the events attended to be published on any and all platforms including but not limited to websites, newsletters and emails.
  • Regularly post on social media (including LinkedIn and Facebook) tagging RAeS and AYAA in each post.
  • Permission for photographs taken by RAeS and/or AYAA to be published on any and all platforms including but not limited to websites, newsletters and emails.
  • The awardee has a moral obligation not to tarnish or misrepresent the AYAA or RAeS. Failure to observe this may result in withdrawal of the award subject to the discretion of AYAA and RAeS in consultation.
Contact Details
Must be in PDF (.pdf) or Word Document (.doc, .docx) format.